THURSDAY, AUGUST 16, 2018
SCORES:
NEWS ITEMS:
F Y I :

MLB:
Minnesota 6
Pirates 4

Chi. Cubs 8
Milwaukee 4

St. Louis 4
Washington 2

Cleveland 4
Cincinnati 3

Atlanta 5
Miami 2

LA Dodgers 4
San Francisco 3 12 Inn.

Philadelphia 7
Boston 2

NY Mets 16
Baltimore 5

Houston 12
Colorado 1

LA Angels 3
San Diego 2

Tampa Bay 6
NY Yankees 1

Chi White Sox 6
Detroit 5

Toronto 6
Kansas City 5








Chinese Taipei Claims DICK'S Sporting Goods PONY League TItle
Tien, Tzu-Chieh allowed just one run, two hits and struck out 13 in 6.2innings before being taken out due to the 95 pitch limit and led Asia-Pacifice Zone champion Chinese Taipei to its ninth DICK'S Sporting Goods Pony League World Series Championship and third in four years defeating West Zone champion Long Beach, California 3-1. It's the third time Chinese Taipei and Long Beach met in the title game with the two previous encounters being won by Long Beach in 2008 and 2012.. For updates and Listen Here links, CLICK HERE

Pirates Get Swept By Twins
MINNEAPOLIS (AP) - Logan Forsythe may be best known by Minnesota fans as the player who replaced fan favorite Brian Dozier. The lone major leaguer of the three players the Dodgers sent to the Upper Midwest on July 31 for the second baseman, Forsythe has filled in capably. Forsythe had three RBIs, the Minnesota bullpen tossed 5 1/3 shutout innings and the Twins beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-4 Wednesday. In 13 games with Minnesota, Forsythe is hitting .386 with six multi-hit games. He had eight in 70 games this season with the Dodgers. "It's about consistency and these guys throwing me out there every day and letting me play my game is luckily paying off getting some hits and playing some good ball," he said. Oliver Drake, Gabriel Moya (3-0), Tyler Duffey and Taylor Rogers allowed five hits and struck out three before Trevor Hildenberger picked up his third save in four chances. Minnesota is 16-4 in its past 20 home games.Josh Harrison had three hits for the Pirates, who were 2 for 15 with runners in scoring position. Pittsburgh has dropped three straight.

Interim Coach Helps Players Fight Heat
COLLEGE PARK, Md. (AP) - Maryland interim football coach Matt Canada has taken steps to ensure that the Terrapins are poised to deal with the heat of summer during his practices following the death of offensive lineman Jordan McNair. In the first workout since Maryland publicly accepted responsibility for mistakes that contributed to McNair's death, two tents were in place at the practice field Wednesday to provide shade. Underneath the awnings were several fans, along with liquids and ice.Practice sessions have been shortened to less than two hours, with time for breaks.

NHL; Kase Accepts Ducks Deal
ANAHEIM, Calif. (AP) - The Anaheim Ducks have re-signed right wing Ondrej Kase to a three-year, $7.8 million contract. The 22-year-old Czech forward was productive last season, providing 18 goals, five game-winners and 38 points while recording a plus-18 in 66 games. The deal makes Nick Ritchie the Ducks' lone restricted free agent as training camp approaches.




WJPA-FM Live
(24-7)
WJPA-AM Live
(Live Local Sports)


DICK'S Sporting Goods
PONY League
World Series
Click for Details

ON The AIR:

Pirates Baseball
WJPA-AM (1450)

Thursday, Aug. 16
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers at
Green Bay Packers
6:00 pm

August 16-19
Pirates vs.
Chicago Cubs
Thursday -- 6:40 pm
(Thursday broadcast will be preempted by Steelers vs. Green Bay game)
Friday -- 6:40 pm
Saturday -- 6:40 pm
Sunday -- 12:35 pm

August 20-22
Pirates vs.
Atlanta Braves
Monday -- 6:40 pm
Tuesday -- 6:40 pm
Wednesday -- 6:40 pm

Saturday, Aug. 25
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers vs.
Tennessee Titans
2:00 pm

August 24-26
Pirates at
Milwaukee Brewers
Friday -- 7:45 pm
Saturday -- 6:45 pm
(Saturday broadcast will be preempted by Steelers vs. Tennessee game)
Sunday -- 1:10 pm

August 28-30
Pirates at
St. Louis Cardinals
Tuesday -- 7:50 pm
Wednesday -- 7:50 pm
Thursday -- 6:50 pm
(Thursday broadcast will be preempted by Steelers vs. Carolina game)

Thursday, Aug. 30
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers vs.
Carolina Panthers
5:30 pm

Friday, Aug. 31
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Sept. 1
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff at
St. John Fisher
WJPA-AM (1450)

12:30 pm -- Listen Here!

September 2
Pirates at
Atlanta Braves
Sunday -- 4:05 pm

September 3-5
Pirates vs.
Cincinnati Reds
Monday -- 1:10 pm
Tuesday -- 6:40 pm
Wednesday -- 6:40 pm

Thursday, Sept. 6
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Atlanta Falcons at
Philadelphia Eagles
7:30 pm

Friday, Sept. 7
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Sept. 8
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff vs.
Thiel
WJPA-FM (95.3)

12:30 pm -- Listen Here!

September 8
Pirates vs.
Miami Marlins
Saturday -- 12:40 pm

Sunday, Sept. 9
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers at
Cleveland Browns
12 noon

Chicago Bears at
Green Bay Packers
7:30 pm

Monday, Sept. 10
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
New York Jets at
Detroit Lions
6:30 pm

LA Rams at
Oakland Raiders
9:45 pm

September 10-12
Pirates at
St. Louis Cardinals
Monday -- 7:50 pm
Tuesday -- 7:50 pm
Wednesday -- 12:50 pm

Thursday, Sept. 13
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Baltimore Ravens at
Cincinnati Bengals
8:00 pm

Friday, Sept. 14
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Sept. 15
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff at
Carnegie-Mellon
WJPA-AM (1450)

6:30 pm -- Listen Here!

September 15
Pirates at
Milwaukee Brewers
Saturday -- 6:45 pm

Sunday, Sept. 16
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers vs.
Kansas City Chiefs
12 noon

NY Giants at
Dallas Cowboys
7:30 pm

Monday, Sept. 17
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Seattle Seahawks at Chicago Bears
7:30 pm

September 17-19
Pirates vs.
Kansas City Royals
Monday -- 6:40 pm
Tuesday -- 6:40 pm
Wednesday -- 6:40 pm

Thursday, Sept. 20
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
NY Jets at
Cleveland Browns
8:00 pm

Friday, Sept. 21
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Sept. 22
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff vs.
Grove City
WJPA-AM (1450)

12:30 pm -- Listen Here!

September 22-23
Pirates vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Saturday -- 6:40 pm
Sunday -- 12:35 pm

Sunday, Sept. 23
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
12:30 pm
4:00 pm

New England Patriots
at Detroit Lions
8:00 pm

Monday, Sept. 24
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers at
Tampa Bay Bucs
6:15 pm

September 24-26
Pirates at
Chicago Cubs
Monday -- 7:40 pm
Tuesday -- 7:40 pm
Wednesday -- 7:40 pm
Thursday -- 7:40 pm

Thursday, Sept. 27
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Minnesota Vikings at
Los Angeles Rams
8:00 pm

Friday, Sept. 28
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Sept. 29
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff at
Bethany
WJPA-AM (1450)

1:30 pm -- Listen Here!

September 29-30
Pirates at
Cincinnati Reds
Saturday -- 3:45 pm
Sunday -- 2:10 pm

Sunday, Sept. 30
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
12:30 pm
4:00 pm

Steelers vs.
Baltimore Ravens
8:00 pm

Monday, Oct. 1
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Kansas City Chiefs
at Denver Broncos
7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 4
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Indianapolis Colts at
New England Patriots
8:00 pm

Friday, Oct. 5
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen
Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Oct. 6
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff vs.
Case-Western Reserve
WJPA-AM (1450)

12:30 pm -- Listen Here!

Sunday, Oct. 7
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers vs.
Atlanta Falcons
12 noon

Dallas Cowboys at
Houston Texans
7:30 pm

Monday, Oct. 8
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Washington Redskins
at New Orleans Saints
7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 11
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Philadelphia Eagles
at NY Giants
8:00 pm

Friday, Oct. 12
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Oct. 13
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff vs.
Geneva
WJPA-AM (1450)

1:30 pm -- Listen Here!

Sunday, Oct. 14
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers at
Cincinnati Bengals
12 noon

Kansas Ctiy Chiefs at
New England Patriots
7:30 pm

Monday, Oct. 15
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
San Francisco '49ers
at Green Bay Packers
7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 18
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Denver Broncos at
Arizona Cardinals
8:00 pm

Friday, Oct. 19
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Oct. 20
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff at
Westminster
WJPA-AM (1450)

12:30 pm -- Listen Here!

Sunday, Oct. 21
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
12:30 pm
4:00 pm

Los Angeles Rams at
San Francisco '49ers
7:30 pm

Monday, Oct. 22
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
New York Giants at
Atlanta Falcons
7:30 pm

Thursday, Oct. 25
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Miami Dolphins at
Houston Texans
8:00 pm

Friday, Oct. 26
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Sunday, Oct. 28
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers vs.
Cleveland Browns
12 noon

New Orleans Saints at
Minnesota Vikings
7:30 pm

Monday, Oct. 29
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
New England Patriots
at Buffalo Bills
7:30 pm

Thursday, Nov. 1
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Oakland Raiders at
San Francisco '49ers
8:00 pm

Friday, Nov. 2
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Nov. 3
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff at
St. Vincent
WJPA-AM (1450)

12:30 pm -- Listen Here!

Sunday, Nov. 4
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers at
Baltimore Ravens
12 noon

Green Bay Packers at
New England Patriots
7:30 pm

Monday, Nov. 5
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Tennessee Titans at
Dallas Cowboys
7:30 pm

Thursday, Nov. 8
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers vs.
Carolina Panthers
6:20 pm

Friday, Nov. 9
HS Football
To Be Determined
WJPA-AM (1450)
-- Listen Here!

To Be Determined
WJPA-FM (95.3)

--Listen Here!

Saturday, Nov. 10
NCAA Football
Wash & Jeff at
Waynesburg
WJPA-AM (1450)

1:00 pm -- Listen Here!

Sunday, Nov. 11
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
12:30 pm
4:00 pm

Dallas Cowboys at
Philadelphia Eagles
7:30 pm

Monday, Nov. 12
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
New York Giants at
San Francisco '49ers
7:30 pm

Thursday, Nov. 15
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Green Bay Packers at
Seattle Seahawks
8:00 pm

Sunday, Nov. 18
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
12:30 pm
4:00 pm

Steelers at
Jacksonville Jaguars
7:30 pm

Monday, Nov. 19
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Kansas City Chiefs at
Los Angeles Rams
7:30 pm

Thursday, Nov. 22
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Chicago Bears at
Detroit Lions
12 noon

Washington Redskins
at Dallas Cowboys
4:00 pm

Atlanta Falcons at
New Orleans Saints
8:00 pm

Sunday, Nov. 25
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Steelers at
Denver Broncos
2:25 pm

Green Bay Packers at
Minnesota Vikings
7:30 pm

Monday, Nov. 26
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
Tennessee Titans at
Houston Texans
7:30 pm

Thursday, Nov. 29
NFL Football
WJPA-AM (1450)
New Orleans Saints at
Dallas Cowboys
8:00 pm

Copyright 2018
The Washington Broadcasting Company
Offices: 724-222-2110  |  Fax: 724-228-2299